Monday, November 16, 2015

U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy: Notice of Meeting; see also.

image from

[Public Notice: 9346]

U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy: Notice of Meeting

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy will hold a public meeting from 10:00a.m. until 11:30a.m., Wednesday, December 2, 2014 in Room 106 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building, at the corner of First Street and Constitution Ave, NE, Washington, D.C. 20002.

The meeting’s topic will be “New Strategic Direction for International Broadcasting Activities” and will feature the Broadcasting Board of Governors’ new Chief Executive Office, John Lansing. Other representatives from BBG and the State Department will also be in attendance.

This meeting is open to the public, Members and staff of Congress, the State Department, Defense Department, the media, and other governmental and non-governmental organizations. To attend and make any requests for reasonable accommodation, e-mail by 5pm on Tuesday, December 1, 2015. Please arrive for the meeting by 9:45am to allow for a prompt meeting start.

The United States Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy appraises U.S.
Government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence foreign publics. The Advisory Commission may conduct studies, inquiries, and meetings, as it deems necessary. It may assemble and disseminate information and issue reports and other publications, subject to the approval of the Chairperson, in consultation with the Executive Director. The Advisory Commission may undertake foreign travel in pursuit of its studies and coordinate, sponsor, or oversee projects, studies, events, or other
activities that it deems desirable and necessary in fulfilling its functions.
The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the Commission shall represent the public interest and shall be selected from a cross section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds. Not more than four members shall be from any one political party. The President designates a member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. William Hybl of Colorado, Chairman; Ambassador Lyndon Olson of Texas, Vice Chairman; Mr. Sim Farar of California, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Penne Korth-Peacock of Texas; Ms. Lezlee Westine of Virginia; and Anne Terman Wedner of Illinois. One seat on the Commission is currently vacant.

To request further information about the meeting or the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy, you may contact its Executive Director, Katherine Brown, at

Dated: November 10, 2015.
Katherine Brown,
Executive Director,
Department of State.
[FR Doc. 2015-29365 Filed: 11/16/2015 8:45 am; Publication Date: 11/17/2015]

No comments: