Wednesday, February 17, 2016

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy public meeting

This document is scheduled to be published in the
Federal Register on 02/18/2016 and available online at, and on
[Billing Code: 4710-45]

[Public Notice: 9449]
Notice of Meeting

image (not from entry) from

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy will hold a public
meeting from 10:00a.m. until 11:30a.m., Tuesday, March 8, 2016 in Room
106 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building, at the corner of First Street and
Constitution Ave, NE, Washington, D.C. 20002.

The meeting’s topic will be “Reassessing Global Countering Violent
Extremism Strategy” and will feature the head of the new Global
Engagement Center at the U.S. Department of State. Other representatives
from the State Department will be in attendance.

This meeting is open to the public, members and staff of Congress, the State
Department, Defense Department, the media, and other governmental and
non-governmental organizations. To attend and make any requests for
reasonable accommodation, e-mail by 5pm on
Thursday, March 3, 2016. Please arrive for the meeting by 9:45am to allow
for a prompt meeting start.

The United States Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy appraises
U.S. Government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence
foreign publics. The Advisory Commission may conduct studies, inquiries,
and meetings, as it deems necessary. It may assemble and disseminate
information and issue reports and other publications, subject to the approval
of the Chairperson, in consultation with the Executive Director. The
Advisory Commission may undertake foreign travel in pursuit of its studies
and coordinate, sponsor, or oversee projects, studies, events, or other
activities that it deems desirable and necessary in fulfilling its functions.
The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, by
and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the
Commission represent the public interest and are selected from a cross
section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public
service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds. Not more than four
members are from any one political party. The President designates a
member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. William Hybl of
Colorado, Chairman; Ambassador Lyndon Olson of Texas, Vice Chairman;
Mr. Sim Farar of California, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Penne KorthPeacock
of Texas; Ms. Lezlee Westine of Virginia; and Anne Terman Wedner of Illinois. One seat on the Commission is currently vacant.

To request further information about the meeting or the U.S. Advisory
Commission on Public Diplomacy, you may contact its Executive Director,
Katherine Brown, at
Dated: February 4, 2016.
Katherine Brown
Executive Director
Department of State

No comments: